Skip to content
November 5, 2012 / A Mindful Traveler

Some Brief Daily Meditations That You Can Do Yourself

In response to my first few posts a friend asked me earlier today for advice on starting a daily meditation practice as he has been having some difficulties in that regard.  I was flattered but also humbled by the question since I’m very far from being any sort of expert.

Before I share the advice I gave him, I first will retell a story that a teacher of mine, Yanai Postelnik, tells.   A yogi who had practiced meditations for 20 years had the opportunity to discuss the difficulties in his practice with His Holiness the Dalai Lama.  His Holiness replied with great compassion, “It’s like that in the early years.”  Combining my years of solo travel and meditation combined barely come to half that total.  In addition, I would also like to offer another observation of the Dalai Lama in conjunction with any advice I offer.  “This is right for me. Your way of understanding may be right for you.”

With that somewhat lengthy introduction, I would like to commend this nine-minute daily insight meditation to you, created by Joseph Goldstein, one of the most important figures in the transmission of Buddhist dharma to the west.  He has also thoughtfully recorded it as a guided meditation that you can download or stream.

If that is too complex or time consuming, I recommend this five-minute meditation that involves focusing on the sound of a bell.  Briefer still is this one-minute silent meditation bracketed by a meditation bell, which I have used with my students.

I hope that you find them beneficial.

Leave a Reply

Wandering Earl

The Life of a Permanent Nomad

ChurnYourOwn

On Food & Health Politics, Nutrition, Cooking and Holistic Living

Metta Refuge

Loving-kindness to Heal and Transform the World

TheSoulAdvocate

Crystal Healing, Meditation and Other Practical Tools For Cultivating the Soul

15 Minutes and 1 Day

a one year experiment in meditation and fasting

dhamma footsteps

postcards from the present moment

Story Archaeology

Combining mindfulness and travel for the benefit of all.

Migrationology - Food Travel Blog

Migrationology is a food travel blog for people who love to eat.

Happiness Plunge

Making the decision to be happy

