Skip to content
December 26, 2012 / A Mindful Traveler

Retreating (In A Good Way)

This will be my last post of this calendar year.  Beginning tomorrow, I will be attending a retreat at Wat Doi Suthep (a temple on a mountain that overlooks Chiang Mai) until the end of the month. 

I spent today visiting a number of wats around Chiang Mai and had particular difficulty locating Wat U Mong. This monastery is somewhat unusual in that it’s a forest monastery but located within walking distance of Chiang Mai.  I hope that I have the opportunity to practice there sometime in the future as the monks I spoke to there spoke English, which I have heard is unusual at such monasteries.

My inability to find the monastery was actually fortuitous as it caused me to stop the first Western I saw for directions.  As it happens, as well as an extremely kind person who gives great directions, he’s a highly experienced meditation practitioner who also blogs.  I look forward to getting to know him better.

I hope to have the chance to get to know those of you who read this blog better as well.  Although I suspect most of its readership consists of my friends, I’ve had a number of “likes” from people I don’t know and visits from countries where I don’t know anyone.  Please feel free to say hello in the comments or by email: amindfultraveler [AT] gmail.com

Most importantly, thank you for reading and have a very Happy New Year!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Won Seok Chung / Dec 26 2012 12:01 pm

    I find myself looking forward to your stories very often and please include some pictures if you can. It will be a lovely complememt to your blog, I think.

    • A Mindful Traveler / Dec 27 2012 1:57 am

      Thank you very much for your kind words Won! I will definitely add some pictures once I have the opportunity to do so. Thank very much for the suggestion.

Leave a Reply

Wandering Earl

The Life of a Permanent Nomad

ChurnYourOwn

On Food & Health Politics, Nutrition, Cooking and Holistic Living

Metta Refuge

Loving-kindness to Heal and Transform the World

TheSoulAdvocate

Crystal Healing, Meditation and Other Practical Tools For Cultivating the Soul

15 Minutes and 1 Day

a one year experiment in meditation and fasting

dhamma footsteps

postcards from the present moment

Story Archaeology

Combining mindfulness and travel for the benefit of all.

Migrationology - Food Travel Blog

Migrationology is a food travel blog for people who love to eat.

Happiness Plunge

Making the decision to be happy

