Skip to content
March 18, 2013 / A Mindful Traveler

Metta Monday: An Inspiring Greeting

Today’s inspirational words come from Adam Pervez, a traveler, blogger, volunteer and Chief Happiness Officer of the Happiness Plunge who I have also interviewed.  Here, he reflects upon what he describes as a simple greeting and a deep transmission of love:

“How do you greet people? Maybe you nod at them, maybe you shake the other person’s hand, maybe you bow or do a curtsy. Everyone is different and every culture has different norms regarding greetings…

In India, “namaste” is said. Namaste literally means “I bow to you.” The more formal version, namaskar, literally means “I bow to your form.” Both namaste and namaskar stem from the belief that each of us was created by the divine and retain a spark of that divinity. So namaskar is generally said to mean “I salute the divinity within you” and ones’ hands are placed first on the forehead to touch the third eye, and then the chest to touch the heart…

I didn’t think I’d adopt the traditional style of greeting so quickly, but I could feel its appeal. I feel like shaking hands, though skin-to-skin contact is made, is much, much more impersonal… Instead of touching the other person’s hand, I’d rather transmit love, respect, warmth, and salute the divinity within them.”

Adam Pervez and a friend salute the divinity within YOU.

Adam Pervez and a friend salute the divinity within YOU.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Craig Kimbrough and Meditative Zone / Mar 18 2013 11:19 am

    I have always found this to be a powerful greeting. Anytime we can remember the truth about one another, it is a beautiful thing. I like your blog and what you are doing.

    • A Mindful Traveler / Mar 18 2013 11:27 am

      Thank you so much for your kind words Craig! I appreciate your wonderful website PositiveAmbassador.Org and your community which I’ve joined. I say “Namaste” to you with much appreciation. I think you’d really enjoy Adam’s website: http://www.happinessplunge.com as I think you gentlemen share a nice philosophy 🙂

  2. Mie Ululani / Mar 18 2013 7:09 pm

    beautiful post! i had “namaste” as my mantra one day and it amazed me how many strangers smiled at me throughout the whole day. and i’m in NYC!!! haha. this is definitely a profound way to approach humanity. thank you for stopping by my blog too! looking forward to checking out your site further.

    • A Mindful Traveler / Mar 18 2013 9:40 pm

      Thank you so much for your kind words Mie! I enjoyed reading your blog http://ululanihealing.wordpress.com as well; it was my pleasure to check it out! I think you’d really enjoy Adam’s website http://www.happinessplunge.com as it’s similarly full of positivity. His latest post explained how he had changed his worldview so much that he saw the silver lining in a case of food poisoning. It reminded me of some of what you’ve written 🙂

Leave a Reply

Wandering Earl

The Life of a Permanent Nomad

ChurnYourOwn

On Food & Health Politics, Nutrition, Cooking and Holistic Living

Metta Refuge

Loving-kindness to Heal and Transform the World

TheSoulAdvocate

Crystal Healing, Meditation and Other Practical Tools For Cultivating the Soul

15 Minutes and 1 Day

a one year experiment in meditation and fasting

dhamma footsteps

postcards from the present moment

Story Archaeology

Combining mindfulness and travel for the benefit of all.

Migrationology - Food Travel Blog

Migrationology is a food travel blog for people who love to eat.

Happiness Plunge

Making the decision to be happy

