Skip to content
April 19, 2013 / A Mindful Traveler

Guest Post: A Mindful Experience in Estes Park, Colorado

I enjoy sharing my thoughts on this blog, but I enjoy hearing yours even more, whether as comments or emails. I particularly appreciate hearing about significant experiences other people have had while traveling. I was deeply grateful when my friend Javier Gonzalez sent me this piece about his experiences in Estes Park, Colorado.  I hope it is the first of many such guest posts.

Estes Park

Somewhere between Denver and Utah lies the gorgeous collection of trees, mountains, lakes, clean air and serenity known as Estes Park. On a summer afternoon during the year of 2011 I found myself producing a New York to San Francisco road trip movie, which took me to the aforementioned area.

The entrance to the park comes after one drives on an elevated stretch of pavement between two pristine lakes and through a charming Colorado mountain village. What does Colorado mountain village mean or imply? I don’t know, I was distracted with some pointless, useless thought at the time and wasn’t paying attention.

After paying the entry fee the trail leads all vehicles up and around a mountain.  You reach the first lookout point and take in the sunset, which cannot be described without the aid of drugs, traditional or prescription. As the sun was finishing its descent I assumed that the excursion was over, however the beloved Director informed me that the fun was just beginning.

We proceeded to observe the sun drop six times in six different locations in six different mountains, each descent more stunning than the prior.

During the last sunset we hiked up a hill and wound up at a rock formation of some sort. The crew silently took in the view and each individual meditated in his own twisted and deranged way.

My impending engagement featured heavily amongst the many thoughts populating my brain at the time. I had more or less decided that I was going to propose to my then girlfriend so the thought was with me during the entire production. Aside from the engagement, I took many deep breaths and enjoyed the jagged yet serene landscape.

Some crew members may or may not have smoked material that is now legal in the great State of Colorado, but that is neither here, nor there. The fact remains that your life will be forever changed after letting an afternoon bleed into night at Estes Park.

Figure out a way to get there.

Leave a Reply

Wandering Earl

The Life of a Permanent Nomad

ChurnYourOwn

On Food & Health Politics, Nutrition, Cooking and Holistic Living

Metta Refuge

Loving-kindness to Heal and Transform the World

TheSoulAdvocate

Crystal Healing, Meditation and Other Practical Tools For Cultivating the Soul

15 Minutes and 1 Day

a one year experiment in meditation and fasting

dhamma footsteps

postcards from the present moment

Story Archaeology

Combining mindfulness and travel for the benefit of all.

Migrationology - Food Travel Blog

Migrationology is a food travel blog for people who love to eat.

Happiness Plunge

Making the decision to be happy

