Skip to content
August 2, 2013 / A Mindful Traveler

An Auspicious Day and a Thank You

Dawn on January 1, 2013

The First Sunrise of This Year 

It’s my birthday today.*  I’d like to take this opportunity to thank my parents for the good fortune of human birth.  I’d also like to express my gratitude to all those who have enriched my life and continue to do so.  It’s been less than a year since I began blogging, but I’ve found that this sphere has given rise to some wonderful conversations and friendships.  On that note, I’d especially like to thank you for reading this blog.

On this auspicious day for me, I would like to share some words I have found valuable, from the  Bhaddekaratta Sutta (MN 131)  “An Auspicious Day”:

You shouldn’t chase after the past

or place expectations on the future.

What is past is left behind.

The future is as yet unreached.

Whatever quality is present

you clearly see right there, right there.

Listen to Larry Rosenberg read the full sutta.

* – Just to be clear, I mean August 2nd since I’m fortunate to have readers on both sides of the international date line 🙂

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. thisbrightnewday / Aug 3 2013 6:00 pm

    Happy Birthday! May every day be “an auspicious day” throughout your new year. Many blessings!

  2. tiramit / Aug 5 2013 7:03 am

    Happy birthday on the 2nd. I’ve been away and a bit jet lagged, so unfortunately I missed the day itself. Thank you for the lovely voice of Larry Rosenberg and his careful reading of the sutta. Hope all is well where you are, and best wishes…

    • A Mindful Traveler / Aug 5 2013 12:46 pm

      Thank you so much for your kind wishes! I’m so glad you enjoyed the reading. I had the good fortune to recently sit a retreat with Larry Rosenberg, he is a wonderful teacher and person.

Leave a Reply

Wandering Earl

The Life of a Permanent Nomad

ChurnYourOwn

On Food & Health Politics, Nutrition, Cooking and Holistic Living

Metta Refuge

Loving-kindness to Heal and Transform the World

TheSoulAdvocate

Crystal Healing, Meditation and Other Practical Tools For Cultivating the Soul

15 Minutes and 1 Day

a one year experiment in meditation and fasting

dhamma footsteps

postcards from the present moment

Story Archaeology

Combining mindfulness and travel for the benefit of all.

Migrationology - Food Travel Blog

Migrationology is a food travel blog for people who love to eat.

Happiness Plunge

Making the decision to be happy

