Skip to content
August 17, 2013 / A Mindful Traveler

Between Worlds

"Only that day dawns to which we are awake." - Thoreau

“Only that day dawns to which we are awake.” – Thoreau

Today is my last day at home in the United States this summer (and indeed this year).  On the one hand I’m somewhere comfortable and familiar, but on the other I know that I won’t see each particular minute of the day here that passes for another 10 or 11 months.  The place I’m moving back to (Korea) is familiar, but will always be strange to me since I’m a foreigner there.  I feel like in one sense I’m between worlds but in another I’m particularly aware of the one where I’m located.   Amid all of this I feel especially calm.  The limitations I feel about this day arise out of my own mind and so too does the attention I bring it.  This is true not just today, but every day.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. tiramit / Aug 17 2013 11:55 pm

    Thanks for this. I know the feeling, having lived in other people’s countries for more than 30 years – the predicament. But your words opened up a view on the expat reality I’d not really seen/felt before. ‘The limitations I feel about this day arise out of my own mind and so too does the attention I bring it…’ The mindfulness involved in moving from one known reality to another, so different…

  2. A Mindful Traveler / Aug 18 2013 12:54 am

    Thank you for your kind words. Your wonderful posts cause me so frequently to see the world in a different way that I am truly humbled that I have been able to be of service in offering you a new perspective.

  3. tiramit / Aug 21 2013 2:08 am

    Thanks for your reply. Hope you have a smooth transition.

Leave a Reply

Wandering Earl

The Life of a Permanent Nomad

ChurnYourOwn

On Food & Health Politics, Nutrition, Cooking and Holistic Living

Metta Refuge

Loving-kindness to Heal and Transform the World

TheSoulAdvocate

Crystal Healing, Meditation and Other Practical Tools For Cultivating the Soul

15 Minutes and 1 Day

a one year experiment in meditation and fasting

dhamma footsteps

postcards from the present moment

Story Archaeology

Combining mindfulness and travel for the benefit of all.

Migrationology - Food Travel Blog

Migrationology is a food travel blog for people who love to eat.

Happiness Plunge

Making the decision to be happy

