Skip to content
April 15, 2013 / A Mindful Traveler

Metta Monday: Kindness and The Sunshine Award

sunshine-award

“Kindness in words creates confidence.  

Kindness in thinking creates profundity.  

 Kindness in giving creates love.”

-Lao Tzu

Confessions of an Old Soul generously nominated me for the Sunshine Award for being an inspiring blogger.  I’m delighted to accept since my primary purpose in blogging is to reach and inspire others.  (On that note, please be on the lookout for the first guest post from a reader this Friday.)

As with, the Liebster Blog Award, I’m taking this as an opportunity to spread lovingkindness and to tell you a little more about myself and some of the bloggers who inspire me.

1.  What inspired you to start blogging?

I was first inspired to blog by Adam Pervez’s wonderful blog Happiness Plunge.  It’s the most warm-hearted, inspirational, and astute writing you’ll find anywhere.  As you might expect, Adam’s an incredibly nice person and was kind enough to let me interview him.  My two greatest interests are mindfulness and travel.  I was surprised to find there wasn’t any website (that I’m aware of) devoted to combining them, so I decided to start one!

2.  How did you come up with the name of your blog?

“Mindful” and “traveler” flowed from the subject matter.  Since we all can be mindful, I chose “a mindful traveler” rather than asserting that I’m “the mindful traveler.”

3. What is your favorite blog  to read? 

Happiness Plunge. I appreciate the way Adam sees the positive in every situation, even food poisoning!  I also really enjoy Mark Wiens’s blog Migrationology.com because of Mark’s enthusiasm for his subject matter and practice of engaging wherever he goes.  (Please be on the lookout for an interview with Mark very soon!)  I also appreciate that both of these gentlemen take the time to answer every email and comment they receive.  (I do so as well.)

4. Tell about your dream job.

Teaching high school English at an international school.  It’s actually what I do for a living.

5. Is your glass half empty or half full?

Metaphorically, half full. Fortunately among Korea’s best features are the ubiquitous filtered water machines so it’s never empty for long!

6. If you could go anywhere for a week’s vacation, where would you go?

Ideally, I’d sit a retreat at the Insight Meditation Society in Barre, Massachusetts.  In terms of a conventional vacation, either Coastal Uruguay (any season but the Austral summer) or Chiang Mai, Thailand (during the Austral summer/Northern winter.)

7. What food can you absolutely not eat?

Brussels sprouts, cheese with fungus in it, and cream soup.  I’m also allergic to coffee, which has made for some awkward situations as people here in Korea tend to generously offer it as a matter of course.

8. Dark chocolate or milk chocolate?

Dark chocolate!  Not only does it taste great, it has health benefits.

9. How much time do you spend blogging?

Probably about two to four hours a week on average.

10. Do you watch TV, and if so, what are some of your favorite shows?

I don’t own a TV, but I do try to watch Democracy Now daily.

My Nominees (In No Particular Order)

1. happy ride

2. dhamma footsteps

3. Metta Refuge

4. Perma Process

5. Mindful Acting

6. Tricycle Blog

7. Happiness Plunge

8. Migrationology

9. Nomadic Notes

10. Wandering Earl

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. mindfulacting / Apr 15 2013 8:55 am

    Thank you so much for nominating me, and for recommending all those wonderful blogs! So glad to be part of your community 🙂

    • A Mindful Traveler / Apr 15 2013 9:41 am

      Thank you for your kind words and for being part of our community! It’s my pleasure 🙂

Leave a Reply

Wandering Earl

The Life of a Permanent Nomad

ChurnYourOwn

On Food & Health Politics, Nutrition, Cooking and Holistic Living

Metta Refuge

Loving-kindness to Heal and Transform the World

TheSoulAdvocate

Crystal Healing, Meditation and Other Practical Tools For Cultivating the Soul

15 Minutes and 1 Day

a one year experiment in meditation and fasting

dhamma footsteps

postcards from the present moment

Story Archaeology

Combining mindfulness and travel for the benefit of all.

Migrationology - Food Travel Blog

Migrationology is a food travel blog for people who love to eat.

Happiness Plunge

Making the decision to be happy

